Announcing the 2012 Norman Mailer Center Fellows

23 Apr

The Norman Mailer Center would like to congratulate the following writers on being awarded Fellowships in the following genres:


  • Soojin Kim
  • Kylie Boltin
  • John DeSimone
  • Grant Jones
  • Karen Martin
  • Josephine Ishmon


  • Elisa Gonzalez (Winner of the 2011 NCTE – NMC 4-Year College Writing Award)
  • Stephen Jimenez
  • Sara Nelson
  • Julia Cooke
  • Philip Eil
  • Winner of the 2012 British GQ Mailer Writing Award – Winner TBA 


  • Nuar Alsadir
  • Amanda Calderon
  • Vanessa Falco
  • Ching-In Chen
  • Amanda Lichtenberg

We look forward to the 2012 Summer Programming this year!


Save the Date: The Fourth Annual Benefit Gala

15 Apr

Important news for those considering summer workshops

15 Mar

Great news for all those who have applied or are planning to apply for a summer 2012 writing workshop at the Norman Mailer Writers Colony.

A longtime supporter of the Center has just offered financial support specifically for our workshop programs. This support will be offered directly to program participants: Any applicant selected for a summer 2012 writing workshop will receive $250.00 of financial aid, which will reduce their administrative fees by that amount. Up-to-date fee information is here on our website. (Totals on that page now include this financial aid.)

The Mailer Center is grateful for this great generosity, and we thank the anonymous donor for targeting the workshop programs which have launched so many new writers.

 Workshop program description

Workshop list

Our faculty

National award-winner and teacher to read at City Lights

23 Feb

Dawn Gilchrist-Young, a Jackson County resident and teacher at Swain County High School for the past 14 years, will discuss her short story “The Tender Branch” at 7 p.m., Feb. 27, at City Lights Bookstore in Sylva.

The reading and accompanying reception are open to the public.

Gilchrist-Young received the Norman Mailer Writing Award for High School Teachers for “The Tender Branch” in 2011.

Beginning in 2011, the Mailer Center partnered with the National Council of Teachers of English to recognize annually the writing of one full or part-time high school teacher of any subject. The winner receives a $10,000 cash prize and a month’s residency at the Norman Mailer Writers’ Colony in Provincetown, Mass.

Gilchrist-Young grew up in Swain County and the story is set in Western North Carolina.

828.586.9499 or

Colum McCann, member of the Mailer Center’s Advisory Council to the Board, Wins World’s Most Lucrative Novel Prize

16 Jun

” … It’s probably fair to say that few people outside Ireland and/or the literary world will have heard of the International Impac Dublin Literary Award. The prize is awarded annually by the Dublin City Council and a company called Impac (they’re a “productivity improvement company”, apparently) for the best novel published two years prior to the year of award, and this year it went to Irish novelist Colum McCann for his 2009 novel Let the Great World Spin. We’re betting McCann’s delighted to have won, because while it mightn’t have the prestige of, say, the Man Booker or the National Book Award, the International Impac Dublin Literary Award is nevertheless notable for one reason: it’s the world’s richest prize for a work of English-language fiction. The winner gets a whopping €100,000 (about US$140,000) – more than the Booker (£50,000, so about US$80,000) and the National Book Award ($10,000) put together. Nice work if you can get it…. ” [via ArtsBeat.]

2011 Sponsored Fellowships awarded to…

13 May

JUNE 1, 2001

The 2011 TASCHEN Mailer Fellowship in Fiction

Awarded to: Igoni Barrett

The 2011 Susan Mailer & Marco Colodro Mailer
Fellowship in Nonfiction

Awarded to: William Goldstein

The 2011 Denise & Dean Pappas Mailer Fellowship
in Nonfiction

Awarded to: Elizabeth Rubin

Van Cleef & Arpels is our anchor sponsor
in poetry for 2011.

The 2011 Van Cleef & Arpels Mailer Fellowships in Poetry

Awarded to: Sherwin Bitsui,
Margot Pappas and Khadijah Queen